Top 10: Christmas Songs

Now that it looks like the North Pole threw up in my apartment, it’s time to let the Christmas music blast!

HomeXmas

There is nothing more magical than Christmas music. The warmth and joy it builds is so comforting and relaxing. It also makes me like other people and want to be a better person (for this short two-month span only). I smile at everyone on the street to their delight–sometimes horror and skepticism. My usual frustrations and passive-aggressive tendencies morph into “God bless you-s” and “Merry Christmas-s!” You could tell me “The Real Housewives of Atlanta” got canceled and I won’t have an existential breakdown, because I know Santa will make it all better.

Let’s count down, shall we?

10. “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree”: Brenda Lee

This song evokes memories from my childhood, watching Macaulay Culkin dupe dumb and dumber, and wishing that one day I could be as wise and clever as he–newsflash: still hasn’t happened. It has that vintage Christmas feel that makes you feel at home.

9. “White Christmas”: Michael Bublé

This is the quintessential Christmas song on anyone’s Christmas list, regardless of which rendition you prefer. Yes, there is the classic Bing Crosby version, but I’m as far away from a traditionalist as one can be, and this one just has that warm feeling while still feeling current and cheery. Bing’s is a little…sleepy.

8. “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)”: Mariah Carey

Obviously, Mariah Carey is like the Queen of Christmas. No one can touch her Christmas swag, or sell a holiday album like she can. There is just something about her voice that just lends itself to the holiday spirit–big, clear and commercial, yet husky and warm.

7. “Cold December Night”: Michael Bublé

If Mariah Carey is the Queen of Christmas, Mr. Bublé is the King. This is one of the original songs crafted for his holiday album, and it’s my favorite. Christmas music depends on my mood: if I’m sitting by the tree or fire being relaxed, I want the softer, homier songs, but if I’m out and about, I want those commercial uplifting songs. This is one of the latter. And the cover art for this album was uh-mazing.

6. “Mistletoe”: Justin Bieber

I know, I know. Don’t even go there with me. I hated this the first time I heard it. As a devout guardian of the Christmas spirit, I was appalled at the use of “shawty” in a CHRISTMAS song. And then those guitar strums got stuck in my head and it was over. Now I love it.

5. “Last Christmas”: Cast of Glee

This is going to be a little extra emotional now. RIP Finn 😦 There aren’t many “Glee” versions that I like better than the original, but I absolutely love this song. It also helps that the video was super festive and cute, shopping for a Christmas tree with hot cocoas in-hand.

4. “What Christmas Means to Me”: Stevie Wonder

Oldie, but goodie. It makes you want to dance and you can’t deny it. One of those songs that just appeals to everyone and puts a big smile on your face.

3. “Underneath the Tree”: Kelly Clarkson

Yes, I realize this just came out. And it’s already no. 3? Yep. It’s that good. I knew instantly this was going into the Pantheon of Christmas songs. Pop Christmas perfection.

2. “Someday at Christmas”: Stevie Wonder

This one hits close to home, literally. I grew up on Stevie’s “Someday at Christmas” album. My mom played it every year when we would decorate the Christmas tree and get the house set for the season. I hated it. And then you get older and then you love it because it’s home. It’s your tradition. This song is the first track on the album so it was always the song to commence the holiday season. ❤

1. “All I Want for Christmas Is You”: Mariah Carey

Must I explain? No.

And just for fun. How about this trip down memory lane?

Leave a Reply

