Yeezus À La Mode: Kanye’s GQ Cover Story

Miranda: Get me Demarchelier.

Andy: I have Miranda Priestly calling for–Okay. I have Patrick!

I don’t know if Jim Nelson, Editor-in-Chief of GQ, is anything like my beloved Miranda Priestly, but this is how I would like to imagine GQ’s August cover story shoot with Kanye West and legendary photographer Patrick Demarchelier was arranged.

I was super excited when I received my copy in the mail yesterday–Yes, I still order print magazines. As controversial and bold as Ye might be, there is one thing you can’t deny: this man has style. And I love everything about his style. Okay, so he’s low key my fashion inspiration of late. I have always been a fan of tonal combinations (white-on-white or black-on-black, etc.) and loose-fitting tops over slim-legged pants, but Kanye just slays it to perfection. Even though he’s been sort-of-but-not-really ex-communicated within the fashion world, he’s doing quite a fine job on his own accord.

West’s style, a neutral and tonal marriage of rock n’ roll and streetwear was illuminated to perfection by Demarchelier in the GQ photo spread:

20140730-131856-47936730.jpg

20140730-131856-47936013.jpg

20140730-131855-47935249.jpg

20140730-132046-48046150.jpg

If you’re wearing layers, you can be in L.A., New York, Paris, in an airport lounge, or on a plane, taking layers on and off however. And the proportions get emotional. You know how a graphic can express a feeling or an emotion? Layers can, too.

–Kanye West

Kanye currently has a collection with French fashion store A.P.C. Most everything I want is sold out. Sad face.

Leave a Reply

